WINE AWARDS & REVIEWS

WINE AWARDS & REVIEWS

Award Winning Wines from H&L

We are constantly humbled to receive awards and accolades for our wines. Below is an ever-growing list of awards for our wines. These include medals and trophies from the range of wine shows across the country.

Hastwell and Lightfoot 2019 best Fiano wine in Australia bottle

2019 H&L Fiano
#1 Fiano in Australia
The Real Review

“Rockmelon and kiwifruit, lemon flesh tapers the finish, along with a faint almond nuttiness. It’s a terrific wine. Saline freshness in concert with natural acidity.”

Hastwell and Lightfoot 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon Shiraz Blended Wine Bottle

2012 38 Days Cab/Shiraz
95 Points Gold
Halliday Wine Companion

“The focus is on a cool-ferment and post-ferment maceration for 38 days. Fine tannins, leaving the juicy black currant and blackberry fruits ample opportunity to play tag with each other.”

HandL 2017 Blended Shiraz Wine Bottle

2017 H&L Shiraz
4 1⁄2 Stars
Winestate

“Powerful earthy nose but also has plenty of ripe berry aromas. Nice palate, well balanced and offering a rich ripe mouthful of flavour with strong tannin backbone.”

Hastwell and Lightfoot 2016 Barbera Wine Bottle

2016 H&L Barbera
Hot 100 Wines
The Adelaide Review

“Sweet liquorice and spicy fruits dominate. There is a hint of char but it remains plush throughout the ride. Enjoy.”

Hastwell & Lightfoot McLaren Vale Vineyard
H&L McLaren Vale Shiraz 95 pts Halliday
H&L McLaren Vale Winery Vineyard at Sunset

Media & Press

Below are a number of the great stories about McLaren Vale, about our H&L wines, and our wine growing family. Click on each link to read the latest news about our wines, cellar door, events and winemaking.

ADElady Logo

SA's Best Platters

May 29, 2017

WineState-Magazine-logo

2019 Vermentino 4 1⁄2 Stars

April 8, 2020

Winetitles Media Logo

H&L & BevPlus Partner

August 13, 2020

Hunter and Bligh Logo

Intimate Cellar Door

Oct 10, 2020

Wine Critic Reviews

Whilst we love our wines, it’s always rewarding to hear what the wine writers, judges and critics say. These wine reviews give us great confidence in our grape growing and winemaking. When we hear that our Fiano “… has just a little bit of attitude, good attitude, with the crunch to complement,” or “This little beauty certainly has the ‘yum’ factor and check out the price!” we know we’re on a good thing.

H&L's Customer Reviews

4.6
facebook logogoogle logotripadvisor logo
5
74
4
7
3
0
2
2
1
5
Kate Ringvall Avatar
Kate Ringvall
03/09/21 - Facebook

We stumbled across this gem of a winery using a Great State voucher. After a fabulous experience with attentive staff, unique wines and a glorious platter, we were members! Two weeks later we were back, friends in tow. Can’t believe we’ve never discovered this amazing spot previously! Superb!

Luke McMungbean Avatar
Luke McMungbean
29/08/21 - Facebook

Thanks for an excellent afternoon of knowledgeable wine tasting and a very nice food platter! Good company! Highly recommended..and thanks to the SA government for this initiative. Appreciated by punters and business owners! I give the experience 5 stars and will definitely return!

Lucy Denham Avatar
Lucy Denham
31/07/21 - Facebook

We had a fantastic experience doing a wine tasting with an amazing platter today! There were 4 of us and we live near McLaren Vale but have never been to Hastwell & Lightfoot. We have vowed to not make that mistake again! Lovely wines, people and platter!

Amanda Jane Avatar
Amanda Jane
19/07/21 - Facebook

Went for wine tasting experience, really enjoyed it & the platter looks amazing.

Heather La Rosa Avatar
Heather La Rosa
04/07/21 - Facebook

Very enjoyable wines & cheese platter with informative knowledge of all wines from Kishan.

Holly Little Avatar
Holly Little
03/07/21 - Facebook

Awesome wine experience and cheese platter - highly recommended.

Janeece Walmsley Avatar
Janeece Walmsley
14/06/21 - Facebook

What a delightful surprise our encounter and tasting was.
So much knowledge Kashan had to share, his passion is evident.
Cheese platters were wonderful too. We will be back.
Thank you so much.

Sue Dundee Avatar
Sue Dundee
12/06/21 - Facebook

Enjoyed our time at Haskell & Lightfoot,lovely wine,platter very tasty and fresh.Recommend a visit.

Lyn Budarick Avatar
Lyn Budarick
30/05/21 - Facebook

Tasting and cheese board was fantastic. Lovely wines. Knowledgeable friendly staff. Great atmosphere.